Objectives & Questions

In reference works on the topical reform of German university study courses, there is talk about teaching or gaining competencies in all disciplines. As long as there are no suitable techniques and instruments to measure competencies, the risk of mere competence rhetoric remains. 

Especially in the field of economic sciences – the most widely chosen study course in Germany – hitherto there are almost no studies and German instruments that facilitate the modeling and assessment of (subject) competence in higher education.

The research project WiwiKom iteratively pursues two goals in order to enable an empirically-based level- and structure modeling of economic (subject) competence.

1) An economic, domain-specific competence model will be conceptualized and developed and empirically tested and validated in German higher education in a second step.

2) Two internationally tested and approved test instruments, the Mexican „Examen General para el Egreso de la Licenciatura“ (EGEL) of the Centro Nacional de Evaluación para la Educación Superior (CENEVAL) and the American "Test of Understanding in College Economics“ (TUCE) of the Council for Economic Educations (CEE), have to be genuinely adapted, further developed and validated into a German measuring instrument, so that the developed competence model can be measured. 

Furthermore the adaption of the Spanish/Latin-American and American test for the German language facilitates comparisons between the different countries.

Ziele & Fragestellungen

In der Literatur zur aktuellen Reform der Studienmodelle an den deutschen Universitäten ist über die verschiedenen Disziplinen hinweg davon die Rede, dass „Kompetenzen“ vermittelt bzw. erworben werden sollen. Solange zu dem dabei verwendeten Kompetenzbegriff nicht geeignete Messverfahren und -instrumente vorliegen, besteht die Gefahr, dass es bei einer bloßen „Kompetenzrhetorik“ bleibt.

Speziell im Bereich der Wirtschaftswissenschaften – das in Deutschland mit Abstand am meisten gewählte Studienfach – existieren bislang kaum Studien und deutschsprachige Instrumente, welche die Modellierung und Erfassung von (Fach)Kompetenzen im universitären Bereich ermöglichen.

Das Forschungsprojekt WiwiKom verfolgt iterativ zwei zentrale Zielstellungen, um eine empiriegestützte Niveau- und Strukturmodellierung der wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen (Fach)Kompetenz zu ermöglichen.

1) Es soll ein wirtschaftswissenschaftliches, domänenspezifisches Kompetenzmodell konzeptionalisiert und entwickelt und in einem zweiten Schritt in dem deutschsprachigen (Fach)Hochschulbereich empirisch erprobt und validiert werden.

2) Es sollen mit dem spanischsprachigen Test „Examen General para el Egreso de la Licenciatura“ (EGEL) des Centro Nacional de Evaluación para la Educación Superior (CENEVAL) und dem amerikanischen "Test of Understanding in College Economics“ (TUCE) des Council for Economic Education (CEE) zwei international erprobte und bewährte Testinstrumente möglichst originalgetreu adaptiert und zu einem deutschsprachigen Messinstrument weiterentwickelt und validiert werden, so dass das entwickelte Kompetenzmodell messbar gemacht werden kann.

Weiterhin ermöglicht die Adaption der spanischsprachigen und amerikanischen Tests in die deutsche Sprache vergleichende Analysen zwischen den verschiedenen Ländern.